…Sprite in one can!!!  I never knew just how much until I dropped a closed can on our ceramic tile floor and watched, helpless, as it exploded.  It covered me… it covered every cabinet and appliance in the kitchen… and the floor!  Oh!  The FLOOR!!! 

I had JUST finished cleaning the ENTIRE kitchen, even the top of the refrigerator and the cabinet ABOVE the refrigerator, just two hours ago.  I had gone outside to let my babies play while I tidied our deck. We were so hot and sweaty that the kids nicely asked for a very special treat of a “fizzy drink.”  Happy to oblige, I set the broom down and went into the pantry, smiling and knowing that the munchkins would be so happy- though their thirst wouldn’t be quenched.  As I went to put the sprite on the counter, to get water that WOULD soothe their parched little mouths, it sliiiiipped from my hand and crashed to the floor…

There is just sooooooo much anger in me!  At just that moment, Noah came to the door fussing and whining and demanding and I exploded.  Like a can of soda crashing to the floor I blew up!  “Why?!?”  I asked.  “Why are you so selfish?  Do you see this mess?  Do you see that I’m dripping with soda and that the kitchen is covered in it?  Why are you fussing and whining?  What on earth do you want?”  I felt HORRIBLE!  He began to cry.  The REAL tears… not the forced ones that come with selfish fussing, whining, grumbling, and complaining.  Oh!  My temper!  My poor sweet boy!!!  While he IS selfish and MUST STOP with the whining, he did not deserve his mommy’s wrath!  I crumpled to the floor, covered in a wet, sticky mess, and pulled him to me gently.  Looking him square in the eye, I confessed my sin and begged his forgiveness.  The sweet little lamb!  He forgave me and replied, “and Mommy, I am so sorry that I don’t always obey you and that I fuss a lot.”  Pretty sweet!  We tangled ourselves together in loving hugs and kisses and he happily went back to the deck to tell Lydia what had happened and that I would be there soon.  Oh Lord, God!  Get me under control!  Keep me from anger!  Protect my children’s hearts when I snap at them!  Erase it from their memories.  And God, I pray that YOU would forgive me!  I am to be YOU, to these little olive branches.  I am such a failure!  Work in me, and make me a vessel to honor and glorify you in ALL THINGS!!!

A man of quick temper acts foolishly,
   and a man of evil devices is hated.
Proverbs 14:17

Whoever is slow to anger has great understanding,
   but he who has a hasty temper exalts folly.
Proverbs 14:29

A hot-tempered man stirs up strife,
   but he who is slow to anger quiets contention.
Proverbs 15:18

Whoever is slow to anger is better than the mighty,
   and he who rules his spirit than he who takes a city.
Proverbs 16:32

Good sense makes one slow to anger,
   and it is his glory to overlook an offense.
Proverbs 19:11

A man of great wrath will pay the penalty,
   for if you deliver him, you will only have to do it again.
Proverbs 19:19

Make no friendship with a man given to anger,
   nor go with a wrathful man,
lest you learn his ways
   and entangle yourself in a snare.
Proverbs 22:24-25

A man without self-control
   is like a city broken into and left without walls.
Proverbs 25:28

For pressing milk produces curds,
   pressing the nose produces blood,
   and pressing anger produces strife.
Proverbs 30:33

But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these:  anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips.
Colossians 3:8

Do not be quickly provoked in your spirit, for anger resides in the lap of fools.
Ecclesiastes 7:9

My dear brothers, take note of this.  Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.
James 1:19-20

God is SO good!  There are so many more WONDERFUL verses that I can jot down, but my fingers are tired and my babies are needing me!

Oh Lord!  You are gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love.  Make me like You!  Please?!?

©PortCityPrincess 2007
All Rights Reserved

