I want to, but I really doubt that Charles and I will ever be so fortunate as to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary.

I don’t think I’ll be around that long!

We had a great trip to Florence, to celebrate Grandma’s and Grandpa’s 50 years, though! 

What a sweet, fun time!  I really wish that I saw that side of the family more.  The love is absolutely delicious (much like Grandma’s cookies and macaroni and cheese)!  I guess I shouldn’t complain, though, especially as I haven’t even seen Charles’ father’s family’s (what a lot of apostrophes) faces yet (they didn’t come to the wedding and neither of us have made the trek)!!!  At any rate.  We had a GREAT trip!  I’ll share a bit of an email I sent to my sweet friend, who asked about it:

The trip was GREAT!  My kids really ARE fantastic!  I get so frustrated with them and think they’re awful most of the time.  But you know… they really are pretty unbelievable.  They’ve got their moments, of course, but wow!  I LOVE them!  They made the 9-hour drive there and the 9-hour drive home and there was only ONE “negative” statement or “complaint” the WHOLE time!  Noah, when we got to Monroe, SWEETLY said, “Momma, my bottom is really hurting from sitting in this seat.”  I was able to gush and coo and tell him how sorry I was, that we were almost home, and that my bottom hurt, too.  It was REALLY a sweet time for the four of us. At the party (at this REALLY nice hotel), they were little STARS!  We had put together a play and Noah really wanted to be in it, so we gave him a sweet, small part at the end and he and Lydia pulled it off TREMENDOUSLY! (I forgot one of my lines!)  They were amazing during dinner!  It was so cute, everyone was toasting Grandma and Grandpa and Noah suddenly taps on his glass and says in his little man voice, “Excuse me.  ahem.  Excuse me.  I am glad that Grandma and Grandpa are on earth.  Cheers!”  It was GREAT!  Then, we hear him talking to Lydia.  Lydia said, “I want to toast, too.” And Noah was coaching her, “You need to say something nice about Gma and Gpa, first.”  It was HILARIOUS!  This trip was great, because it gave me a new appreciation for my babies.  I was ashamed for how nazi-like I am regarding them!!!  It’s good to have high standards- but rather than being bummed and irritated all the time, I really need to look at how GREAT my munchkins are!  So all of that to say, I LOVE them and am PROUD of them!  We had a GREAT time and the kiddos cried at having to leave!  I always cried when I left Gma’s and Gpa’s, too!  It is really about the only place I can go and not feel like I need a vacation when I get back!  Know what I mean?

They really were great!  They slept well.  They cuddled with the family well (which really IS important when you don’t see them much).  They played well.  My sweet little brothers and sisters were so very selfless with them!!!  They played and played, especially James and Maddie.  Of course, Noah keeps talking about “bionic zombies” and he keeps telling me that God is like an “intergalactic superhero”- but it’s a small price to pay to have James devote so much time to him, leaving Noah starry-eyed!

Here are some photos.  Most were taken by Noah!  Hopefully, family will email photos to me… SOMEDAY (I’m still waiting for Pensacola Pics)… and then I’ll post those, too.

Enjoy!

In no particular order (with some extra photos of the munchkins that were in this set):
Click the thumbnail for the full image.

 





















































































































































































©PortCityPrincess 2007
All Rights Reserved

