I’ll never understand how He saw a piece of clay and said “I want it, I’ll use it”
The greatest mystery is that somehow, in spite of me,
He said “I’m gonna love you”
He took me in His arms said “This child belongs to me”,
He placed me in His kingdom, Now I live like royalty
It’s not because of what I am, not because of what I’ve done,
It’s because of Whose I am

I’ll never understand, while I was yet a slave,
He said He’d buy me. He’d save me.
He clothed himself in flesh, became the final sacrifice
so I could know redemption
He took the stripes upon His back so that I could walk in health,
Then He broke the chains of death now I can live forevermore,
It’s not because of what I am, not because of what I’ve done,
It’s because of Whose I am

My Father is Lord of everything from here beyond forever
He’s given me His name, said if I’d ask anything
He’d gladly give it,
He put a robe upon my back, placed a ring upon my hand,
Said the riches of heaven were all mine
It’s not because of what I am, not because of what I’ve done,
It’s because of Whose I am.

It’s not because of what I am, not because of what I’ve done,
But its because He first loved me. His grace has set me free.
His blood is flowing through my veins. I’m adopted by The King.
It’s because of Whose I am.

 

 Hmmmm… I just LOVE it!  I’ve been looking for this for AGES, getting ready for our lesson tomorrow… I only have a grainy Wayne Watson rendition on an old cassette tape… can’t find the lyrics ANYWHERE… so if I’ve got them wrong… feel free to comment and correct!

©PortCityPrincess 2007
All Rights Reserved

