Some of you have already read this… if you read the last issue of the Trumpet…  I read it again last night and again this morning and again as I just sat down to a glass of chocolate milk.

WOW!  What a thought!!!  What a PRECIOUS thought that comes from Zephaniah 3:17!!!  READ what Spurgeon writes:

 There is an unrivaled picture in the word where the Lord is even represented as SINGING WITH JOY OVER HIS PEOPLE.Who could have conceived of the Eternal One as bursting forth into a song?Yet it is written,

“He will rejoice over you with joy,
 he will rest in his love,
 he will rejoice over you with singing.”

As he looked upon the newly CREATED WORLD, he spoke and said, “It is very good,” -but he did not sing.

And as he views the works of PROVIDENCE, I do not read that he sings.

But when he gazes on his people, the purchase of Jesus’ blood, his own chosen ones, the great heart of the Infinite restrains itself no longer, but, wonder of wonders and miracle of miracles, God, the Eternal One, sings out of the joy of his soul!


Look at Spurgeon’s face!  Doesn’t it seem almost giddy!?!  I LOVE IT!

That’s MY response… GIDDINESS and AWE and HAPPY WONDER that God would BURST INTO SONG… and that He sings over me… YIKES!  That’s pretty amazing!I like the way the ESV reads: 

The LORD your God is in your midst,
   a mighty one who will save;
 he will rejoice over you with gladness;
   he will quiet you by his love;
he will exult over you with loud singing.

Yes… we should ALL share Spurgeon’s happy look! 

My heart is ready to burst!!! 

 Because it’s God’s Word, as unbelievable as it may seem… that He would delight in me to the point of breaking into song…  it’s TRUE!

He quiets us with His love… that’s another humdinger!  Wow!  I can’t even say anything about that!  What intimacy! 

Think of when your husband quiets you with his love. 

Charles is SO good at that (don’t get me wrong, we fight viciously at times and NOBODY is quieting ANYTHING!) but really, I understand what that means… to be quieted with the love of Charles is such a strong, but at the same time soft, tender, intimate thing… 

think of how GOD quiets your raging, anxious, mourning, etc. heart! 

Wow!  He’s quieting you with His LOVE!!! 

Just stinkin’ WOW!!! 

I know…All of the good literature I’ve read, all of my years of study and all I can say to that is JUST STINKIN’ WOW!!! WOW!!! 

©PortCityPrincess 2007
All Rights Reserved

