Next Tuesday.  Keep praying!

I’m sorry I’ve not updated you on this week’s visit until now…

I think it was a good meeting.  I didn’t get to read the “Should You Believe the Trinity” booklet they gave me, because I had family come into town and was so caught up in the other, much longer book, “What Does the Bible Really Teach”

Doesn’t that just creep you out?!?

Anyway…  I also wanted to get away from discussing the Trinity and the Diety of Christ.  I wanted to (very sweetly and gently) rattle them, if I could, and get them to question the Watchtower.

They came in and had a seat (I got my sweet little kiddos, who were FABULOUS, occupied in different rooms) and I picked up the above book as they asked how my week had been, etc.  We had polite, friendly chatter about the weeks goings-on and I fiddled with that book, chomping at the bit and praying fervently that I would honor God and that it would be all about Him… begging Him to make these women see.  We all know how passionate and emotional I can be… just on a daily basis *blush*… but after reading their booklet… I’ve been SEETHING… heart-pounding… blood-pressure rising… head-swimming… ANGRY!  I prayed that God would calm me… quiet me with His love *happy sigh* and that if NOTHING ELSE HAPPENED, I would get to read scripture out loud.  I didn’t care if it was geneology!  I just wanted to read the word of God out loud to these women.  The seed is the Word!

After our polite chit-chat (which lasted less than two minutes), they asked if I  had been able to read “What is the Truth about God” (the first chapter in the book).  I wanted to scream, but I didn’t.  The Truth about God.  Oh!  Father!!!  Reveal Yourself to these sweet women!  My heart groans, still, thinking of it!  Why me?  Why have You so sweetly cultivated (and continue to cultivate) a personal relationship with me?  I am so unworthy… but SO HAPPY!  YOU are the desire of my heart, God.  Woo Bessie and Brenda with your Truth as You have me! 

I told them that I had nearly read the entire book.  Shocked, they asked what I thought.

“You know, this is a great book,” I said. 

They smiled at me, a hint of startled amazement in their eyes… perhaps hope for a new convert.

“Really, this is very good.  It’s a great story.  The verses you use to back it up are great.  It’s so happy and worry-free.  I have nothing to fear.  Even if I don’t believe, I just cease to exist.  That’s really pretty great!  Separating myself from everything I believe to be true, I had no problems with anything in this book until I picked up the Word of God.”  Picking up my bible, I continued, “See, your book is by a man- or a team of men. THIS book is God’s Word.  So, to be responsible- and your book challenges me to be responsible and get the facts- I’ve GOT to read this book you gave me in light of the whole counsel of SCRIPTURE.”

They nodded in agreement.

“That’s where I ran into a big snaffu.  The verses your book cites are snippets, taken out of context and sometimes not even accurate translations of Greek and Hebrew.”

I continued to cite examples.

We ended up talking about hell for a long time.  I got to read a good bit of Luke 16, several psalms, Revelations 20, a lot of Genesis… I was happy to be reading ANYTHING from God’s Word out loud!  Yay!  They brought up “works of righteousness” and I got SO excited!!!  But when I wanted to really dig, they switched back to death… I was able to talk to them about God’s holiness, righteousness, and justice.  They only wanted to speak of His mercy.  But how do we know mercy and really appreciate it unless we know what we are being saved from?!?  I told them that ceasing to exist was no problem for me.  I didn’t need to be saved from that.  It wouldn’t be dreadful at all.  We went on and on.  I got tired, but remembered what God had given me in 2 Corninthians 4.  He is SOOOOOO good!  Y’all!!!  Wow!  Why is He so nice to us!?!  Why does He come sweeping in with tenderness and words of encouragement…  *happy sigh*  He’s always giving… but to think that we exist for Him!  I like how Piper put it in one of his sermons “We exist to make Christ look good.”  Of course, He doesn’t need us to make Himself look good… this statement is about our purpose.  Yikes!  What a standard!  TO MAKE HIM LOOK GOOD!  How I fail!!!  But I digress…

I can’t remember exactly how it came up now, but I read ALL of Romans 6- which is fun.  My sweet Father let me read 2 Corinthians 4:1-6 out loud… I wish I could have continued through the rest of it!!!  I MUST this next Tuesday… there are lots of juicy morsels!

The whole time, they had their Reasoning with the Scriptures book out.  grrrr…

We talked about some of the Watchtower’s prophecies that had not come to pass… things that they prophesied in the Creator’s name.

Brenda said, “Isn’t it better that people were looking for Christ than if they just went on about their lives.”

I replied, “The BIBLE tells us to look for Him… it is specific in telling us that we don’t know when He’ll come… not 1914… not 1975… but to ALWAYS look… .  Open up to Deuteronomy with me real quick.”

I then read Deuteronomy 18:20-21 and challenged them to question their leaders.  They are following men who are false prophets.  They disagreed with nothing to back them but emotion and comments about persecution.   I prayed in my heart!

Before we knew it, almost two hours had passed and my sweet kiddos needed feeding and Brenda and Bessie had to get going, too.

On the way out, I said, “Oh!  I forgot!  Read to me what your bible says in Isaiah 44:6.  (I knew what it said, because I looked at www.watctower.org– they have an online NWT).

Bessie:  “This is what Jehovah has said, the King of Israel and the Repurchaser of him, Jehovah of armies, ‘I am the first and I am the last, and besides me there is no God.

Me:  “Okay, one more time.”

Bessie: “This is what Jehovah has said, the King of Israel and the Repurchaser of him…”

Me:  “Who id the Repurchaser?”

Brenda and Bessie in unison:  “Jesus Christ”

Me:  “Okay,  sorry… wanted to be sure we both had the same idea.  Start from the beginning again.”

Bessie: ““This is what Jehovah has said, the King of Israel and the Repurchaser of him, Jehovah of armies…”

Me:  “There!”  (pleading, inclined to her, my heart LONGING, my eyes IMPLORING)  “Your version says it.  The Redeemer/Repurchaser is Jehovah.”

Brenda (visibly rattled, but smiling sweetly):  “Wait, we spoke too fast.  We’re human, too.  The Repurchaser is God, not Jesus Christ.”

Me:  “No.  No.”  Shaking my head and praying in my heart to the Redeemer. “You were right the first time because Jesus Christ is the Repurchaser and He is God.”

Bessie:  “Well we have to go.  We’ll look this over and talk to you next time.  Is Tuesday good?”

Me:  (a bit sad, but trying to be upbeat) “Tuesday would be great.”

Brenda:  (hugging me) You are so sweet.

Waves all around… goodbyes…

Please, friends!  Keep praying with me!!!

Great Jehovah, mighty Lord,
Vast and boundless is Thy Word;
King of kings, from shore to shore
Thou shalt reign forevermore.

Jew and Gentile, bond and free,
All shall yet be one in Thee;
All confess Messiah’s Name,
All His wondrous love proclaim.

From her night shall China wake,
Afric’s sons their chains shall break;
Egypt, where Thy people trod,
Shall adore and praise our God.

India’s groves of palms so fair
Shall resound with praise and prayer;
Ceylon’s isle with joy shall sing,
Glory be to Christ our King.

North and South shall own Thy sway;
East and West Thy voice obey;
Crowns and thrones before Thee fall,
King of kings and Lord of all.

Fanny Crosby

 

Amen!

©PortCityPrincess 2007
All Rights Reserved

